Emotions Over Intellect


When emotions clash with our intellect, it becomes confusing. It’s  my routine every morning to listen to a podcast, focusing on God’s verses and teachings to guide me throughout the day and meditations. Without this guidance, it feels incomplete and challenging to face the day. Do you have a morning routine that serves as your guide for the day?  I’ll share what I listened to, which coincidentally aligned with the reminders from yesterday and will influence my decisions today.

Last night, I was supposed to declutter and organize my belongings, something I’ve been putting off for days. During the pandemic, stuck at home and feeling bored, I found myself indulging in online shops, not excessively or expensively. However, it accumulated over time. Compounded by my habit before the pandemic when I was still running a business, due to excessive stress and fatigue most of the time, going to mall was my outlet and buying things out of stress, were my way of  releasing the feeling.

Last night, I struggled to let go of  my certain stuff, feeling weighed down, just like losing loved ones and needed to move on. I postponed the task, rationalizing it as heavy, though my intellect tells me it’s necessary to sell or donate to lessen the clutter. Similar dilemma of a friend , struggling with her new job, stressed by their coworkers’ attitudes, and contemplating resignation. But then what, will start from scratch, job hunting all over again. It’s a clash between emotions and rational thinking, sometimes we need to take the challenge to be able to grow and learn.

This morning, God’s guidance became evident amidst these confusions and weaknesses. It reminded me that in times like these, we need mental prayers to navigate our feelings versus our intellect. Sometimes, our emotions lead us astray, and we tend to favor them over what we should logically consider in a situation. My point is, day by day, we need prayers to prompt our right actions and transform our feelings to align with our rational thinking. Feelings can really be deceiving, almost like gossip. We’re tempted to talk about people we dislike to others because those are our feelings, the things we don’t like about them, but if we use our minds, on the other hand, we realize that the person we dislike for trivial reasons hasn’t really done anything wrong to us. So, this is where our thinking adjusts our feelings. We all need to have a mental prayer, seeking God’s guidance each day.

~Nodz

Drop me a line ✐ I would love to hear your thoughts :)